UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor shubhamn
Visitor
3,703 Views
Registered: ‎06-07-2017

License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.2

Hi, I have installed Vivado2017.2 in windows10, in License Manger I have set the path for XILINXD_LICENSE_FILE and LM_LICENSE_FILE. I believe that my Vivado License is loaded correctly. I have checked that my host id also matches. Then also I am getting below ERROR:

 

[Common 17-345] A valid license was not found for feature 'Synthesis' and/or device 'xc7k325t-ffg900'. Please run the Vivado License Manager for assistance in determining

which features and devices are licensed for your system.

Resolution: Check the status of your licenses in the Vivado License Manager. For debug help search Xilinx Support for "Licensing FAQ".

 

Can someone please help me to resolve this ERROR.

0 Kudos
20 Replies
Scholar hbucher
Scholar
3,697 Views
Registered: ‎03-22-2016

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

Did you check the license manager (Help/License Manager...) for the status for all synthesis?

 

vitorian.com --- We do this for fun. Always give kudos. Accept as solution if your question was answered.
I will not answer to personal messages - use the forums instead.
licensexilinx.png
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,693 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

you must have license to use this device. Check your license file by opening in any word editor . You can manually. In case you have valid license it may not setup correctly

check this link to debug this issue at your end
https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation-navigation/design-hubs/dh0013-vivado-installation-and-licensing-hub.html
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
Moderator
Moderator
3,666 Views
Registered: ‎01-16-2013

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

Hi,

 

Which license you are using? Webpack/ device locked/ system edition?

Are you able to synthesize any other example design targeting any different FPGA?

 

Can you share license and environment report through personal message?

To generate environment report run command: report_environment -file <path of file>/env.txt

 

Thanks,
Yash

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
3,658 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2015

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

@shubhamn,

 

Do you have a webpack license? Webpack license won't be sufficient to use this device.

If you have installed a purchased license, can you try closing "all" Xilinx applications and restarting Vivado?

Thanks,
Nupur
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (click on the 'thumbs-up' button).
0 Kudos
Visitor shubhamn
Visitor
3,648 Views
Registered: ‎06-07-2017

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

Hi below I have attached a screenshot of Vivado license manager. I have set XILINXD_LICENSE_FILE=C:\.Xilinx;D:\Xilinx\Vivado\2017.2\data\ip\core_licenses.

Capture.PNG
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
3,638 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2015

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

@shubhamn,

 

These are all IP licenses. Run this command in Vivado tcl console and share the env.txt file:
report_environment -file env.txt

 

Did you purchase a board? If yes, you must have received a voucher with it. You can activate it using steps given here: UG1042

If you have not purchased a board and but are trying to use the device you mentioned, you need to purchase a license: buy

 

If you do not wish to buy a license, then you can't use the device mentioned above.

 

However, you can install Webpack Edition of Vivado(selected during installation) which is free. But you will only be able to use these devices:
webpack.PNG

Thanks,
Nupur
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (click on the 'thumbs-up' button).
0 Kudos
Visitor shubhamn
Visitor
3,634 Views
Registered: ‎06-07-2017

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

@nupurs please find the below attached env.txt file.

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
3,631 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2015

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

@shubhamn

 

You have no Vivado license installed.

Can you try closing "all" Xilinx applications and restarting Vivado?

Thanks,
Nupur
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (click on the 'thumbs-up' button).
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,622 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

Are you seeing issue with Vivado 2017.1 or 2017.2 . Your title says Vivado 2017.1 but in attached env.txt only 2017.2 . You can open the .lic file and see if you have valid license. You must have permanent license . Webpack or design linking license will not work for your target device
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Visitor shubhamn
Visitor
3,387 Views
Registered: ‎06-07-2017

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

@nupurs

 

I have restarted Vivado then also I am getting same error. In License information in env.txt file synthesis is not included as feature. I think I have not added path for this. Could you please tell me how include path for this?

 

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,385 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

open license manager and set license path
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Visitor shubhamn
Visitor
3,382 Views
Registered: ‎06-07-2017

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

@balkris

In vivado license manager I have set

XILINXD_LICENSE_FILE=C:\.Xilinx;D:\Xilinx\Vivado\2017.2\data\ip\core_licenses

 

Then also it is showing same error

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
3,367 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2015

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

@shubhamn,

 

What is the location of the Xilinx license that you just installed?

Thanks,
Nupur
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (click on the 'thumbs-up' button).
0 Kudos
Visitor shubhamn
Visitor
3,363 Views
Registered: ‎06-07-2017

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

@nupurs

Location where I installed my license=D:\Xilinx\Vivado\2017.2

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
3,357 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2015

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

@shubhamn,

 

then add this path to XILINXD_LICENSE_FILE: D:\Xilinx\Vivado\2017.2

 

Close all Xilinx tools and restart Vivado

Thanks,
Nupur
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (click on the 'thumbs-up' button).
0 Kudos
Visitor shubhamn
Visitor
3,353 Views
Registered: ‎06-07-2017

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

Hi have tried this then also I am getting ERROR.

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
3,341 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2015

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

@shubhamn

 

Try restarting your system.

Generate and share the env.txt again.

Thanks,
Nupur
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (click on the 'thumbs-up' button).
0 Kudos
Visitor shubhamn
Visitor
3,335 Views
Registered: ‎06-07-2017

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

@nupurs

Restarted my system. I cannot find synthesis feature in env.txt file in License information section I think this is creating problem.Generated env.txt file. Please find it below:

 

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
3,321 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2015

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.1

@shubhamn,

 

The XILINXD_LICENSE_FILE is still set to 

XILINXD_LICENSE_FILE=C:\.Xilinx;D:\Xilinx\Vivado\2017.2\data\ip\core_licenses

Please modify it to:
 

C:\.Xilinx;D:\Xilinx\Vivado\2017.2\data\ip\core_licenses;D:\Xilinx\Vivado\2017.2
Thanks,
Nupur
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Google your question before posting. If someone's post answers your question, mark the post as answer with "Accept as solution". If you see a particularly good and informative post, consider giving it Kudos (click on the 'thumbs-up' button).
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,891 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: License Error while synthesis in Vivado2017.2

Hi @shubhamn

 

There is no Vivado tool license reported in the Xinfo you have shared, you have only IP licenses. Hence you need to purchase a new license for device you are using as it is not supported by webpack.

 

Regards

Rohit

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Regards
Rohit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos