cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
6,045 Views
Registered: ‎02-02-2017

RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution

I was wondering if vivado has an option to synthesis the FSM to memory units (ROM or BRAM)?

 

By searching through the forum I found out that XST has this option (by setting FSM_STYLE to bram) but I could not find anything in vivado user guideline that shows that option is available in vivado as well! Does vivado no longer supports RAM-based FSM synthesis or is it available under another name?

 

 

Thank you!

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
10,752 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution

Hi @shadiasd

 

Like in ISE, in vivado we don't have any attribute that supports RAM based FSM.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
6,030 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution
check this ARs
https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/60799.html
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
6,030 Views
Registered: ‎02-02-2017

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution

I have posted my query in the wrong board by mistake,  "Welcome & Join" instead of "Synthesis" board.

As I understood  I am not able to delete my post as a newbie. I appreciate it if someone with a higher rank can move it to the "Synthesis" board (Xilinx Products : Design Tools : Synthesis) please.  

 

 

Thank you very much!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
6,019 Views
Registered: ‎02-02-2017

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution

Thank for the quick reply @balkris. I have actually seen that post before, but unfortunately that does not talk about FSM_STYLE attribute. The other attributes that are mentioned there are not related to synthesising the FSM to BRAMs.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
10,753 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution

Hi @shadiasd

 

Like in ISE, in vivado we don't have any attribute that supports RAM based FSM.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
6,014 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution
It seems there is no workaround to use fsm_style attribute in Vivado. CRs reported on this issue
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
5,993 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution

Re ISE ,

 

there was a use ram for state machines, 

 

its in the advanced property

 

https://www.xilinx.com/itp/xilinx10/isehelp/pn_c_setting_advanced_properties.htm

 

https://www.xilinx.com/itp/xilinx10/isehelp/pp_db_xst_hdl_synthesis_options.htm

 

Very useful, much missed in Vivado.

 

But I'm certain in Vivado "it can be done in TCL".

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Advisor
Advisor
5,877 Views
Registered: ‎02-12-2013

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution
Dr. J

Your sarcasm is greatly appreciated.
----------------------------------------
DSP in hardware and software
-----------------------------------------
0 Kudos