UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor shadiasd
Visitor
5,866 Views
Registered: ‎02-02-2017

RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution

I was wondering if vivado has an option to synthesis the FSM to memory units (ROM or BRAM)?

 

By searching through the forum I found out that XST has this option (by setting FSM_STYLE to bram) but I could not find anything in vivado user guideline that shows that option is available in vivado as well! Does vivado no longer supports RAM-based FSM synthesis or is it available under another name?

 

 

Thank you!

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
10,573 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution

Hi @shadiasd

 

Like in ISE, in vivado we don't have any attribute that supports RAM based FSM.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,851 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution
check this ARs
https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/60799.html
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Visitor shadiasd
Visitor
5,851 Views
Registered: ‎02-02-2017

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution

I have posted my query in the wrong board by mistake,  "Welcome & Join" instead of "Synthesis" board.

As I understood  I am not able to delete my post as a newbie. I appreciate it if someone with a higher rank can move it to the "Synthesis" board (Xilinx Products : Design Tools : Synthesis) please.  

 

 

Thank you very much!

0 Kudos
Visitor shadiasd
Visitor
5,840 Views
Registered: ‎02-02-2017

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution

Thank for the quick reply @balkris. I have actually seen that post before, but unfortunately that does not talk about FSM_STYLE attribute. The other attributes that are mentioned there are not related to synthesising the FSM to BRAMs.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
10,574 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution

Hi @shadiasd

 

Like in ISE, in vivado we don't have any attribute that supports RAM based FSM.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,835 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution
It seems there is no workaround to use fsm_style attribute in Vivado. CRs reported on this issue
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.
0 Kudos
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar
5,814 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution

Re ISE ,

 

there was a use ram for state machines, 

 

its in the advanced property

 

https://www.xilinx.com/itp/xilinx10/isehelp/pn_c_setting_advanced_properties.htm

 

https://www.xilinx.com/itp/xilinx10/isehelp/pp_db_xst_hdl_synthesis_options.htm

 

Very useful, much missed in Vivado.

 

But I'm certain in Vivado "it can be done in TCL".

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Scholar pedro_uno
Scholar
5,698 Views
Registered: ‎02-12-2013

Re: RAM-Based FSM Synthesis in vivado

Jump to solution
Dr. J

Your sarcasm is greatly appreciated.
----------------------------------------
DSP in hardware and software
-----------------------------------------
0 Kudos