cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jkirwan
Visitor
Visitor

Verilog semantics question -- Is there a semantic difference between these two "equivalent" ways of writing the double-dabble algorithm?

I'm only just self-learning verilog. (I'm a hobbyist. Nothing more.) I've had lots of experience wire-wrapping CPUs from old 7400 series parts around 1974 or so. But only recently have I become interested in revisiting those times with FPGAs. I just bought a Digilent board for this purpose and I'm only now becoming familiar with the Webpack version of Vivado. Verilog is entirely new to me. (I've been studying only for a few hours' time, so far.)

I've had some good success, already. And code I've written works fine. (I've tested it and observed the behavior on the Digilent board, which does as I expected and wanted.) But I've a question that I've boiled down to a simple pair of two different ways of expressing the same thing (in my mind, anyway.) And I'd like to know if there is an important semantic difference. (The Implementation's "Report Utilization" tells me there's no difference in how it gets implemented on the XC7A35T device. So I can't tell from that report.)

I'm implementing the "dabble algorithm" here in two different ways. Both synthesize okay and I can run the result on the FPGA board I have with equal results. But here's the two bits of code to compare:

module doubledabble ( binin, adj3out );

input binin;
   output adj3out;

wire [3:0] binin;
   reg [3:0] adj3out;

always @(*) begin
      adj3out = (binin > 4 ? binin + 3 : binin );
   end

endmodule

and then,

module doubledabble ( binin, adj3out );

input binin;
   output adj3out;

wire [3:0] binin;
   wire [3:0] adj3out;

assign adj3out = (binin > 4 ? binin + 3 : binin );

endmodule