UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
6,679 Views
Registered: ‎02-26-2009

can I change the ram ontents with an incremental compile?

Jump to solution

Hi I'm running ISE Web edition for Spartan3AN.

 

I have a design,  I  want to change the contents of  RAMs ( RAMB16_S18_S18 ), much more often than I want to change the RTL design.

 

The normal way is just to restart a compilation.

This will do synthesis / place and route . . . and will only then create a programming file.

 

I wondered whether there is a way to convince the tools to just change the contents for a RAM in the programming file without having to 

perform all the other steps? (changing a RAM contents doesn't really require a new place and route, as all cells can stay exactly where they are)

 

Thanks in advance for any suggestions

 

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,203 Views
Registered: ‎08-13-2007

Re: can I change the ram ontents with an incremental compile?

Jump to solution

I would start here:

http://toolbox.xilinx.com/docsan/xilinx10/books/docs/d2m/d2m.pdf (Data2MEM User Guide)

bt

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,204 Views
Registered: ‎08-13-2007

Re: can I change the ram ontents with an incremental compile?

Jump to solution

I would start here:

http://toolbox.xilinx.com/docsan/xilinx10/books/docs/d2m/d2m.pdf (Data2MEM User Guide)

bt

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
6,645 Views
Registered: ‎02-26-2009

Re: can I change the ram ontents with an incremental compile?

Jump to solution

Hi timpe,

 

thanks a lot for the answer.

I was reading a lot, but frankly speaking I'm a little stuck.

 

1.) How to create the .bmm file

------------------------------------------

I have a design with only one  RAMB16_S18_S18 ?

 

I found some info in one of Ken's articles from 2005 ( http://preview.tinyurl.com/cps944 )

 , but I'm not sure, that all steps are still valid.

 

I called

  xdl -ncd2xdl  to generate a .xdl file.

 

Then I grepped for the instantiation:

> inst "pbram/xilram/ram_1024_x_18" "RAMB16BWE",placed BRAMSITE2_BRK_X36Y9 RAMB16_X1Y2  ,

 

So I assume (but am not sure) my  .bmm file should be this:

 ADDRESS_SPACE pb1_data RAMB18 INDEX_ADDRESSING [0x00000000:0x000003FF]
    BUS_BLOCK
        pbram/xilram/ram_1024_x_18 [17:0] LOC=X1Y2;
    END_BUS_BLOCK;
END_ADDRESS_SPACE;

 

at least calling

data2mem.exe -bm bla.bmm

 

shows no errors.

 

2.) how to create a new bit file

-------------------------------------------

Now the next step should be simple, but obviously I'm missing something.

 

 

I call from a DOS prompt:

data2mem.exe -bm bla.bmm -bd pb1_ramdata.mem -bt p001_xil.bit  -o b new_p001_xil.bit

 

I get no error message (in fact no output at all)

Searching the directory I do not find the file  new_p001_xil.bit

 

Trying the same from a cygwin prompt gives following error message:

ERROR:Data2MEM:1 - File 'p001_xil.bit' can not be found, or is busy.

 

However  I have no application accessing this memory (at least not hat I know).

 

What I will do is reboot the system, but I'm afraid, there's still something else which is wrong.

 

The .mem file has been created manually and looks like:

@000
000000
02e000
@300
02e010
02e111
@3ff
012342

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
6,644 Views
Registered: ‎02-26-2009

Re: can I change the ram ontents with an incremental compile?

Jump to solution

Hi Timpe,

 

The problem seems to be something completely different.

 

It seems, that  data2mem has problems with following line:

 

@3ff
012342

 

If I remove it, I get a new .bit file

 

Alternatively I can hange the line to

 

@3fe

012342

012342

 

and I have also success.

 

This seems really weired.

 

bye

 

Klaus

 

P.S. I just tried the generation of the bit file.

Whether the contents is ok is something I'll try later on

 

0 Kudos