Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kakaluoteasd
Visitor
Visitor

Confusion about timing constraints

Jump to solution

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner of learning FPGA. Now I'm learning how to add time constraints. I wrote a verilog code to practice it. I used to clocks,‘sclk’was used to drive some simple logic and ‘clk1’was used to produce a new clock ‘clock_out'. I used vivado to add some constraints. However, when i saw the report, i was confused about something.

First, clock_interaction report showed that‘From clock div_clock_out'‘To clock div_clock’, in my opinion, it should be‘from div_clock to div_clock_out'.

Second, i have used 'set_clock_groups' to seperate the two clocks,why the ‘common primay clock’showed ‘yes’. 

Third, when i saw the time_report_summary,it used ‘div_clock_out’ as the source clock, it should be 'div_clock'. And when vivado did path analysis, it add 20ns to the arrival time at first,why vivado did that?.

I felt i did something wrong. Anybody can  give me some suggestions? Thanks a lot!

always @(posedge sclk or negedge rst_n)
begin
if(~rst_n)
b_r<=1'b0;
else
b_r<=b;
end

always @(posedge sclk or negedge rst_n)
begin
if(~rst_n)
d_r<=1'b0;
else
d_r<=out;
end

assign out=(~c)^(b_r && a);

assign y=(~c)&&d_r;

always @(posedge clk1 or negedge rst_n)
begin
if(~rst_n)
div<=1'b0;
else
div<=~div;
end
assign clk_out=div;

added constraints

constraint.jpg

report_clock_interaction

reprot1.jpg

report_timing_summary

QQ截图20171117173539.jpg

QQ截图20171117173556.jpg

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
avrumw
Expert
Expert

First, clock_interaction report showed that‘From clock div_clock_out'‘To clock div_clock’, in my opinion, it should be‘from div_clock to div_clock_out'.

There is no path from div_clock to div_clock_out. A path needs a startpoint and and endpoint. As defined there is only one flip-flop on the combination of these two domains, which is div_reg.