Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
marrud
Visitor
Visitor

Finding the actual input and output delay constraints for my design

Greetings,

I am analysing a SPI master design in Vivado to analyse how different operating frequencies affects the power consumption. In order to have as large accuracy as possible for the power analysis/report, Vivado tells me to fill out various timing constraints for the design. I have looked into various guides and forums so I know the procedure to set the values, but as I am new to FPGA design I struggle to find out what these values actually should be.

I am using the Timing constraint wizard and has set the different clocks using create_clock, but when I get to Input/Output delays I have to set different delay parameters for different signals. The datasheet for the design only presents a maximum operating frequency, so I wondered if anyone know if it is possible to do some analysis to find the required delay parameter or how this should be done?

Looking forward to an answer

Best regards

Markus

4 Replies
maps-mpls
Mentor
Mentor

The set_input_delay and set_output_delay are to specify aspects of your design that Vivado cannot possibly know.  Specifically, Vivado doesn't know external flight delays on data and clock, or the trace lengths, or the setup,hold requirements of downstream synchronous devices, or the clock to out min/max of upstream devices.  You get this data from the datasheets of the upstream/downstream devices, and the board delays and trace lengths from your board designer (or you get the board design files and compute it yourself). 

*** Destination: Rapid design and development cycles ***
0 Kudos
marrud
Visitor
Visitor

Greetings,