UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Scholar helmutforren
Scholar

How can I fix this timing error, please?

Jump to solution

I'm using Vivado 2017.1 and I'm new at trying to get a project to meet timing.  I get the following timing error:

The germane code looks like this:

reg rx_mmcm_lckd_clk,rx_mmcm_lckd_metastable;
    always @(posedge clk) begin rx_mmcm_lckd_clk = rx_mmcm_lckd_metastable; rx_mmcm_lckd_metastable = rx_mmcm_lckd; end

Constraints include this:

create_clock -period 5.000 -name SYSCLK -waveform {0.000 2.500} [get_ports SYSCLK_P]
create_clock -period 1.961 -name ROIC_bitclk -waveform {0.000 0.981} [get_ports FMC_HPC_LA07_P]

Where clk is connected to the instantiator's SYS_CLK, and SYS_CLK comes from SYSCLK_P like this:

IBUFGDS #(.DIFF_TERM("FALSE"))   CL_iob (.I(SYSCLK_P),  .IB(SYSCLK_N),  .O(SYS_CLK));

As I read the error, the setup time for rx_mmcm_lckd_metastable is not met.  But the whole point of rx_mmcm_lckd_metastable was to get the MMCM Locked signal across the clock domain.  As you can see in the first code snippet.  I guess maybe there setup is indeed not met, but because I have two [flipflops] in a row, it should be ok.

Do I have a timing error here?  How would I fix it?  Is it not in fact an error?  Should I try to make the error not display?  (I read about being unable to do that last one, which is a shame.  That means I must remember a year or three from now which are acceptable and which are not.)  Or is my clock domain crossing incorrect?  Or are my constraints insufficient?

Thanks VERY MUCH again,

Helmut

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Historian
Historian