UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Explorer
Explorer

How to constrain an input strap?

Jump to solution

Hi,

I am new to Vivado and have a problem constraining inputs, the design is in Verilog and targets a Zynq. I have what I call straps, input pins that are either pulled high or low with a resistor. So they don't change and are 'fixed' the moment the logic is configured. However that creates lots of warnings about timing.

On a related theme, how should an input be constrained if it is aync and goes to a synchroniser flip/flop.

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Scholar pedro_uno
Scholar

Re: How to constrain an input strap?

Jump to solution

Vivado adopted the SDC style of timing constraints.  In the absence of an overriding constraint SDC assumes that I/O pins will need to meet the same period constraint that is assigned to the clock running the flip-flop.  Often it is impossible for an I/O pin to meet that constraint.  For example a 200MHz clock frequency would require less than 5ns clock-to-out timing.

I like to use the "set_max_delay" command in my .xdc files to set reasonable timing requirements on the types of "strapped" and asynchronous i/o you describe.  You can set the constraint to say 20ns which will cause the timing reports to be quiet on those pins.

Good luck.

----------------------------------------
DSP in hardware and software
-----------------------------------------
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Scholar pedro_uno
Scholar

Jump to solution