UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer sundarbas
Observer

Timing Analysis of a specific data path

Jump to solution

Hi I have a synchronous dual port fifo implementation where data is transferred from a write logic to a read logic.

I am trying to probe for timing path in the highlighted net in the image attached, but it reports it as no timing path available. How do I time this path?

The implementation of this logic condensed is as below:

Write_flop -> FIFO_memory(RAM) -> Read flop

I suspect a hold violation due to a timing ignored path in RAM -> Read flop path.

I am new to Timing anlaysis, please help me out.

FPGA family: XCKU-115

Regards,
Sundar

Capture.PNG
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Historian
Historian

Re: Timing Analysis of a specific data path

Jump to solution

You are clearly having trouble locating the proper net for your "-through" - my suggestion is that you let the GUI help you.

If you create a schematic (like the one you show in your post) and select the net (by clicking on it), you can get its full name in property window - you can use that to create your command.

Even better, you can use the "get_selected_objects" command as part of another command. So if you do

report_timing -name test -max_paths 100 -delay_type min_max -through [get_selected_objects]

it will report the top 100 paths (in a graphical window) that go through the selected object (in this case the nets you selected).