UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer manninosi
Observer

Timing Errors with 8-channel ADC

I am a graduate student working with FPGAs for digital pulse processing with radiation detection. 

My research group has designed an analog to converter board that utilizes an Analog Devices ADC (AD9681) that is 8 channel (two 4-channel blocks) that runs out serial data. The ADC out puts LVDS data clock DCO_1 and DCO_1 and LVDS frame clocks FCO_1 and FCO_2. This board is connected to an Opal Kelly board xem7350, that uses a Kinetex-7 FPGA, with a FMC. Analog devices provided a de-serializer for stream of data. 

The clocks are generated as follows: 

DCO +/-  =>  IBUFDS  => DCM (MMCM) => ISER (Provided by Analog Devices) 

The FCO clock goes straight to the ISER where it is buffed as the following: 

FCO +/- => IBUFDS => BUFG => Sys_Clk

The FCO from the 2nd channel bank is the clock that is used to clock the rest of the data processing for the design. 

I've attached the timing error summary as well as my constraints file. This summary report is from synthesis. I have noticed when I run implementation that the data from the ADC and DCO clock are not connected in the implementation schematic. I'm assuming this was done since these were some of the signals that were not meeting the timing. 

I've tried using one of Avrumw's responses in this link to constrain my design. 

https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Timing-Analysis/Source-synchronous-ADC-timing/m-p/572674#M7688