UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

Hi

I'm studying UG903 and here are my questions.

At page 108 there is paragraph entitled "Important" but I think the figure isn't related to that paragraph.

I think the capture edge should move to right.

Capture.JPG

Am I right?

In the document the figure 5-9 is the same as figure 5-10, Is it possible to explain why the figures are the same?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: ug903

Jump to solution

@dariush84

You are correct. Good catch! In almost all the Xilinx documentation examples, you will see that registers (aka flip-flops) are sensitive to the rising-edge of the clock. That is, they will capture and launch data on the clock rising-edge. This is usually what you will see after implementation of your design because this is usually how we write our HDL code. For example, in VHDL, we almost always use “if rising_edge(clk)..” in a clocked-process and almost never use “if falling_edge(clk)..”.  You could use “if falling_edge(clk)..” if you want and this will result in a timing path where the clock is sent through an invertor before it reaches a register. However, this often leads to confusion and overly-tight timing requirements. Hence, it is not recommended.

…figure 5-9 is the same as figure 5-10, Is it possible to explain why the figures are the same?
They are equivalent only because the CLK1 and CLK2 waveforms have the same frequency and are phase aligned. Therefore the time-relationship represented by the HOLD arrow in Fig 5-9 will be the same as the time-relationship represented by the HOLD arrow in Fig 5.10.

Good questions!
Mark

12 Replies

Jump to solution