UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor wideswath
Visitor
1,369 Views
Registered: ‎04-20-2017

KU060 Booting from PROM

Jump to solution

I'm able to successfully load a .mcs into the flash memory I have connected to my KU060, and if I right click on the KU060 in Vivado Lab Edition, I can click "Boot from Configuration Memory Device" which works too.

 

My issue is that the FPGA doesn't boot from flash on a power cycle.  I have to load up Vivado Lab Edition each time and click "Boot from Configuration Memory Device."  

 

How can I get my FPGA to boot from flash automatically on a power cycle?

 

Thanks.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Visitor wideswath
Visitor
2,160 Views
Registered: ‎04-20-2017

Re: KU060 Booting from PROM

Jump to solution

I'm the hardware engineer.  I setup the board as directed for SPI master mode. 

 

I got it working, but by total accident, as far as I can tell, this is totally undocumented.

 

When my board is connected via JTAG, the FPGA will not boot from PROM.  If I power cycle and disconnect the JTAG cable while powered down, then it boots from the flash.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Scholar austin
Scholar
1,360 Views
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Re: KU060 Booting from PROM

Jump to solution

w,

 

Your board may have a selection switch for configuration.  It typically is a set of DIP switches which need to be set properly to recognize the boot source.

 

Lab Edition uses JTAG which is always enabled, so switch settings are not required.

 

 

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose
0 Kudos
Visitor wideswath
Visitor
1,356 Views
Registered: ‎04-20-2017

Re: KU060 Booting from PROM

Jump to solution

Thank you for the reply.  This is actually a custom board.  No switches.  So, if I can program from PROM using the option in Lab Tools, but my board doesn't come up by default... what should I be looking for?

0 Kudos
Scholar austin
Scholar
1,354 Views
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Re: KU060 Booting from PROM

Jump to solution

The configuration select pins need to be set to the correct values.

 

There are likely jumpers, or resistors that require placement, or removal.

 

You should ask the engineer responsible for your board.

 

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor wideswath
Visitor
2,161 Views
Registered: ‎04-20-2017

Re: KU060 Booting from PROM

Jump to solution

I'm the hardware engineer.  I setup the board as directed for SPI master mode. 

 

I got it working, but by total accident, as far as I can tell, this is totally undocumented.

 

When my board is connected via JTAG, the FPGA will not boot from PROM.  If I power cycle and disconnect the JTAG cable while powered down, then it boots from the flash.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Scholar austin
Scholar
1,349 Views
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Re: KU060 Booting from PROM

Jump to solution

w,

 

Sounds like it is working exactly as it should.

 

If JTAG is connected, it has precedence.

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose
0 Kudos