cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
e_stoimenov
Visitor
Visitor
8,033 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2011

Black box error

Jump to solution

Hi ,

We are designing monostable vibrator. We are using black box using the following VHDL code.

-------------------------------

library ieee;
use ieee.std_logic_1164.ALL;
use ieee.numeric_std.ALL;
-- synopsys translate_off
library UNISIM;
use UNISIM.Vcomponents.ALL;
-- synopsys translate_on

entity oneshot is
port ( clk : in std_logic;
ce : in std_logic;
trigger : in std_logic;
delay : in std_logic_vector (15 downto 0);
pulse : out std_logic :='0');
end oneshot;


architecture BEHAVIORAL of oneshot is
signal count: integer range 0 to 100; -- count variable
begin
process (trigger,clk)
begin
-- wait for trigger leading edge
if trigger'event and trigger = '1' then
count <= to_integer(unsigned(delay));
elsif clk'event and clk = '1' then
if count > 0 then
pulse <= '1';
count <= count - 1;
else
pulse <= '0';
end if;
end if;
end process;
end BEHAVIORAL;

-------------------------------

 

We are receiving the following error message:

 

"The inputs to this block cannot all be constant.
Error occurred during "Rate and Type Propagation"."

 

Could you please share some advise how we can fix this issue?

 

Thanks in advance

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
markus.offergeld
Explorer
Explorer
11,774 Views
Registered: ‎02-28-2011

Hi,

 

looks like you are driving the blackbox only by constants. If yes it is easy to fix:

specifiy the rate of at least on constant block you use at the inputs

 

Regards Markus

View solution in original post

4 Replies
vsrunga
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
8,030 Views
Registered: ‎07-11-2011

Hi,

 

Can you show us your mdl file blockset connections with blakbox included?

Please also refer below link

 

http://forums.xilinx.com/t5/DSP-Tools/Error-occurred-during-quot-Rate-and-Type-Error-Checking-quot/td-p/406421

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please do google search before posting, you may find relavant information.
Mark the post - "Accept as solution" and give kudos if information provided is helpful and reply oriented
0 Kudos
markus.offergeld
Explorer
Explorer
11,775 Views
Registered: ‎02-28-2011

Hi,

 

looks like you are driving the blackbox only by constants. If yes it is easy to fix:

specifiy the rate of at least on constant block you use at the inputs

 

Regards Markus

View solution in original post

e_stoimenov
Visitor
Visitor
8,017 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2011
Markus,
Thanks. Changing the sample rate of the constant t_impulse to 1 solved the problem. Thanks again.
Regards!
0 Kudos
e_stoimenov
Visitor
Visitor
8,015 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2011
Vsrunga, The link is OK :) Thanks!
0 Kudos