Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
YS
Visitor
Visitor

Information about video processing

Jump to solution

I am new to developing applications with FPGA. That's why I want to get ideas from experienced people.

I will develop a video processing system for use in security cameras (PTZ). Basically, I aim to do the following operations.
- Video enhancement (brightness, contrast, etc.)
- Object tracking
- Electronic video stabilization (EIS)
- On-Screen Display (OSD)
- Video encoding (H264 / H265 optional)
- Encoded video stream with Ethernet (UDP / TCP - RTSP - Unicast / Multicast)

Currently, there is a developer kit (Alinx AX7020) which is zynq7020.
I have always done similar applications with OpenCV on desktop computers before.
How do you recommend me to do these operations? What should I follow, what should I search? It would be right to do it with Vivado HLS or Linux. Or what kind of way is generally preferred for such applications.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Nikhil_Thapa
Explorer
Explorer

Hi @YS ,

But I am unsure about HLS or linux

This will be based on your design requirements. I think you might require both of them.

Here, you have to understand that HLS is high level synthesis, which is used for creating custom IP. Whenever you want to create your own custom IP for your design, mostly, you will need Vivado HLS. 

On the other hand, Linux is Operating System, like Windows. If you prefer to use Windows, it's okay so far.

There are some Tools, such as, Petalinux, Yocto, QEMU etc..., which are only supported in Linux environment. Mostly, Xilinx references are designed to run on a Linux Platform. And there are other many things you can do with Linux.