Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Multiple pixel processing

Jump to solution

Hi,

I am developing a image processing core.
For Full HD video, I have used one pixel per clock for image processing core.

But for 4K/8K Video project, I have timing problems.
So I studied about mutiple pixel processing to solve the timing problems.

In some Xilinx IPs, there are about one, two, four, or eight pixel per clock processing.
As a example, in case of two pixel per clock processing, 
I guess that two pixel are processed at one clock.
but  I would like to get some more detail information or application document about the mutiple pixel per clock processing.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer

Re: Multiple pixel processing

Jump to solution

@k621219 

It is exactly what it sounds like - you're processing more than one pixel at a time.

It is done to trade off resources for increased bandwidth.    If you can't meet timing with one pixel per clock, you can increase to two or four pixels per clock.   While this results in increased throughput for the same clock rate, it also uses more resources, because the processing path is wider.

For example, if you were to try to process 1080p60 RGB video in its native format of 24 bits at 148.5MHz pixel rate in an Artix-7, you wouldn't be able to do it if your axi bus is running at the typical 100MHz rate.     If you instead processed it as 48 bits at the 100MHz clock (a 74.25MHz effective throughput rate for dual-pixel processing), it would meet timing, but would use more resources because the RGB path is now 48 bits wide instead of 24 bits wide.    You can further increase the throughput by processing at four pixels per clock.

Refer to UG934 for information about multiple-pixel-per clock encoding.and data-packing for various video formats.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer

Jump to solution

@k621219