cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
520 Views
Registered: ‎02-28-2020

Verilog program/ algorithm for HDMI interfacing

Please provide the verilog program/algorithm for HDMI interfacing.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
480 Views
Registered: ‎02-12-2020

Hi @tidkepradeep,

I found these links online -Not Tested by Xilinx

Please let me know if you still need more assistance or that what you are looking for.
 
Thanks,
Romisaa
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give Kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar
475 Views
Registered: ‎05-21-2015

0 Kudos
Highlighted
388 Views
Registered: ‎02-28-2020

I want the code/algorithm like following: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4enWoVHCykI
I wan to print each pixel of 16 bit.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
388 Views
Registered: ‎02-28-2020

I want the code/algorithm like following: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4enWoVHCykI
I wan to print each pixel of 16 bit.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
369 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi tidkepradeep@gmail.com 

I think you need to be clear between the protocol and the interface.

The video you are showing is just a VGA controller. I wrote one quick one for the following video series (running on Zedboard):

Video Beginner Series 1: Introduction to Digital Video

But this is using a VGA output not HDMI.

Then if you are using a HDMI connector there are multiple different options depending on the board you have.

If the board has a ADV7511, this is taking care of the HDMI layer. This is what I shown running on the ZC702 board:

Video Series 19: Using the On-Board HDMI on ZC702 (Vivado design)

Video Series 20: Starting with SDK and configuring the ADV7511

Video Series 21: TPG Application on ZC702

If the board does not have an ADV7511, then you have again multiple options. On HDMI connectors if it is not connected to the devices gigabit tranceivers (GTs), then you can do DVI through HDMI or HDMI 1.4

For DVI, you can use the digilent IP. I showed an example running on the PYNQ-Z2 in the following article:

Video Series 23: Generate a video output on Pynq-Z2 HDMI out

If you want HDMI, I just noticed an article on Hackster.io talking about an open source HDMI (1.4) IP:

https://www.hackster.io/news/open-source-hdmi-for-fpga-f3e885b41aa5

Finally, I you need to support resolutions >1080p then you will have to use the GTs of the device and pay for a license for a HDMI IP as I am not aware of any free solution. Te Xilix solution is mentioned in PG235:

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/ip_documentation/v_hdmi_tx_ss/v3_1/pg235-v-hdmi-tx-ss.pdf 

https://www.hackster.io/news/open-source-hdmi-for-fpga-f3e885b41aa5

 


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
Highlighted
304 Views
Registered: ‎02-28-2020

I am getting following error. Kindly help.

ERROR: [Board 49-71] The board_part definition was not found for xilinx.com:zc702:part0:1.4. The project's board_part property was not set, but the project's part property was set to xc7z020clg484-1. Valid board_part values can be retrieved with the 'get_board_parts' Tcl command. Check if board.repoPaths parameter is set and the board_part is installed from the tcl app store.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
292 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

HI tidkepradeep@gmail.com 

The error is clear. You need to install the ZC702 board files in vivado installation.

You can try using the following way. In vivado, create a new project. On the part selection tab, select boards and then click install and install the ZC702


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
265 Views
Registered: ‎02-28-2020

Please check attached image. There is no install button, and I have already added zc702 in library. Please comment.

1.PNG
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
191 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Hi tidkepradeep@gmail.com 

Ok. This might be because the version you are using does not have the install option. Which version are you using?

I see that you have the ZC702 in the board list, so it is only the version which is not matching.

You can try to use the get_board_parts * commands and find the version then edit the following line in the create_proj.tcl file

set_property board_part xilinx.com:zc702:part0:1.4 [current_project]


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
61 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

HI tidkepradeep@gmail.com 

Do you have any update to share on this?


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos