UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
2,615 Views
Registered: ‎05-31-2017

3G SDI Transceiver implementation error

Jump to solution

Hello everybody,

 

I meet a trouble with the GTwizard.

I generate the GT for 3G SDI ("3g sdi" in Protocol selection box) (see summary attached).

 

RTL analysis OK, Synthesis OK, but Implementation NOT OK :

 

 

[DRC NDRV-1] Driverless Nets: Net gtwizard_0_i/U0/common0_i/gtpe2_common_i_n_60,
gtwizard_0_i/U0/common0_i/gtpe2_common_i_n_61,
gtwizard_0_i/U0/common0_i/gtpe2_common_i_n_62,
gtwizard_0_i/U0/common0_i/gtpe2_common_i_n_63,
gtwizard_0_i/U0/common0_i/gtpe2_common_i_n_66,
gtwizard_0_i/U0/common0_i/gtpe2_common_i_n_67,
gtwizard_0_i/U0/common0_i/gtpe2_common_i_n_70,
and gtwizard_0_i/U0/common0_i/gtpe2_common_i_n_71 are undriven.

If i search in files, thoses ports are connected to signals, connected to nothing (see schematic.jpg).

I tried to modify gtwizard_0_common.vhd in order to connect ports to ground, but it doesn't change anything!

 

 

So... If someone could help me! 

 

Thanks everybody!

 

Paul

 

 

Tags (2)
GT sumary.JPG
schematic.JPG
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Moderator
Moderator
4,329 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: 3G SDI Transceiver implementation error

Jump to solution

Hi @pgrangeray,

 

Try to follow xapp1097. You should have all the steps to generate the GT wrapper.

 

Hope that helps,

 

Regards,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Explorer
Explorer
2,595 Views
Registered: ‎05-31-2017

Re: 3G SDI Transceiver implementation error

Jump to solution

I forgot one thing!

Ports in the error message are the followings :

gtpe2_common_i_n_60 :GTEASTREFCLK0

gtpe2_common_i_n_61 :GTEASTREFCLK1

gtpe2_common_i_n_62 :GTGREFCLK0

gtpe2_common_i_n_63 :GTGREFCLK1

gtpe2_common_i_n_66 :GTWESTREFCLK0

gtpe2_common_i_n_67 :GTWESTREFCLK1

gtpe2_common_i_n_70 : PLL0PD

gtpe2_common_i_n_71 : PLL0RESET

0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
2,579 Views
Registered: ‎06-24-2013

Re: 3G SDI Transceiver implementation error

Jump to solution

Hey @pgrangeray,

 

GTPE2_COMMON is one of the hardened primitives related to the gigabit tranceivers.

Here is what UG953 has to say about it:

 

GTPE2 is a gigabit transceiver component for 7 series devices. It is not intended for direct instantiation, and should be configured using the Xilinx IP Catalog. See the 7 series FPGAs Transceivers User Guide for details.

 

So I would say, this is very likely a tool or IP bug or some kind of misconfiguration of said IP.

 

Best,

Herbert

-------------- Yes, I do this for fun!
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,576 Views
Registered: ‎05-31-2017

Re: 3G SDI Transceiver implementation error

Jump to solution
Hi @hpoetzl ,
Thanj you for your reply.

In my case, GTPE2_common is part of gtwizard, so normaly IP is correct?!

The most incredible stuff, is when I modify the vhd file (with IS_MANAGE propertie), modifications are useless! It doesn't change anything! I can connect to '0', or '1', or "tie_to_ground_i", it is the same !
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
4,330 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: 3G SDI Transceiver implementation error

Jump to solution

Hi @pgrangeray,

 

Try to follow xapp1097. You should have all the steps to generate the GT wrapper.

 

Hope that helps,

 

Regards,

 

Florent


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,563 Views
Registered: ‎05-31-2017

Re: 3G SDI Transceiver implementation error

Jump to solution

Hi @florentw ,

 

Thank you for your reply.

I have already seen that application note, but not "choose hd sdi also for 3g sdi, not 3g sdi" . Hahaha, well done! I hope it will help me!

0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
2,532 Views
Registered: ‎05-31-2017

Re: 3G SDI Transceiver implementation error

Jump to solution
So, I have finally used the code example "SDI PASS" for my application. Now i can complete the implementation, and deal with Timing errors...

Thanks!

0 Kudos