cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
748 Views
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

Hi,

I'm designer with Kintex and Vivado/SDK for years but I'm new designer with Zynq ultrascale + and with ZCU106 board .

I tried the ''UHD-SDI-Pass-Through with Picxo '' design explained in the PG289_V1 and the ''UHD-SDI-Pass-Through '' design explained in the PG290_V1 . Both work fine following these product guides .

I have to begin a new design and I want to start from ''UHD-SDI-Pass-Through with Picxo '' design which I have to add some new personnal IPs . So I want to debug this futur new design .

My question is : why the ''Hello word'' with the ''UHD-SDI-Pass-Through with Picxo '' design doesn't work while the ''Hello word'' with the ''UHD-SDI-Pass-Through '' design does work fine ?

With the ''UHD-SDI-Pass-Through with Picxo '' design , I see in the XSCT console that the programming FPGA is well loaded until 100% and then a warning is displayed : '' Error while launching program : AXI AP transaction error , DAP status F0000021'' .

I hope that someone could me explain what happend and what I have to do to resolve this issu .

Best regards.

Alex

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
600 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

Hi @alectronic 

You have to replace the zynqMP, then on the top of the block design you should see Run Block Automation

4.jpg

Make sure that Apply Board Preset is enabled and click OK

5.jpg

 

The preset from the ZynqMP GUI is not the way to do anymore. It was for Zynq-7000


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

16 Replies
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
737 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution
The way to debug this kind of problem, is to take a step back, make a much simpler set of modes, see if that works,
if yes go forward a half step, if not go back and try simpler,

A very usual technique employed by all engineers, divide and conquer.


<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
727 Views
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

hi @drjohnsmith ,

I don't understand your reply .

The ''Hello word'' application I want to check with is the PG289's design without any modification .It doesn't work and the the following warning is displayed :'' Error while launching program : AXI AP transaction error , DAP status F0000021''

The ''Hello word'' application with the PG290's design and without modification , this works fine .

I hope it is more clear now .

Best regards

Alex

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
718 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

Hi @alectronic 

I suspect that this issue you are seeing is related to the AR#71961.

Basically the DDR4 DIMMs were changed on the new ZCU102/ZCU106 boards which is causing some issues.

And internally in Xilinx, people still have the old boards for validation so miss the issue with the new ones. So it might be that the options in PS is not enabled in one of the 2 designs

  1. Could you let me know what version you are using (Vivado/Vitis/SDK)?
  2. Are you running the FSBL before the application? If not could you try and see if it helps?

Thanks


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
717 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution
OK, I now understand,
not my area then, may be some one else can help
<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
687 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

Hi @alectronic 

I can nearly confirm this issue is related to

Can you run the following TCL command in the Vivado design for the path-through example:

set_property -dict [list CONFIG.PSU_DYNAMIC_DDR_CONFIG_EN {1}] [get_ips get_ips *zynq_us*]

Then regenerate the bitstream and re-export the hardware to Vitis (or SDK if Version<2019.2). Then let me know if the hello world is now working


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
682 Views
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

Hi @florentw ,

Thank you for your prompt reply.

The version of VIVADO I use is VIVADO2018.3 with SDK .

For creating a FSBL new application project , I have attached a screenshot showing you the Hardware Platform's choice . I have no the possibility to select the ZCU106 platform . So what are the steps to run the FSBL before application ?

Thanks in advance .

Regards

Alex

FSBL.png
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
679 Views
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

Hi @florentw ,

I try the tcl command and in attached the error message displayed .

Thanks in advance .

Regards.

Alex

error_Cde_TCL.png
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
674 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

Hi @alectronic 

You need to create the platform based on your HDF file. Then you use the platform to create the FSBL. This is exactly the same flow as creating the hello world application. You should have the platfrom corresponding to your HDF file

You have 2 easy way of creating the hw platform:

  • From vivado, if you use the launch SDK command after exporting the hdf file, then the tool will automatically create the hw platfrom
  • From SDK, you use file > new > hardware platform and create it using the HDF file you have exported from vivado

Note that you need the option I mentioned previously set in the vivado project. Else the FSBL will have no effect


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
649 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

@alectronic wrote:

I try the tcl command and in attached the error message displayed .


Well... I tried it in 2019.2...

So I see 3 options for you:

  1. Generate the example design in 2019.2. you will still need to add the command but it should work
  2. In 2018.3, you can try to generate the FSBL with the working project use for the hw platform (i.e. path-through with PICXO) and run it before the path-through application. But I am not sure this will fully work
  3. In the path-through example design, change the target to ZCU106 (this is currently targetting the part), delect the ZynqUS+ and add a new one. Then you will be apply to run Apply board preset to set up the ZynqMP properly for the board

Also, when runnig the FSBL then application, make sure you disable run psu_init in the run/debug configuration. The FSBL replaces the psu_init.tcl.

Note that it is recommended to run the FSBL instead of the psu_init.tcl script from any version >2018.2 even when not trying to fix the issue with the new DIMMS as it is more reliable.


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
614 Views
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

hi @florentw ,

I made the modifications as you explained me in 3) .(Attached the screenshot of the Project Summary)

After the bitstream was generated , I have launched SDK and I have run the FSBL ( Attached the screenshot of the Putty console) . This application seems to work fine .

Then I have run the ''Hello word'' application and now I have a timeout error .(Attached the screenshot of the error ) . I have checked that the psu_init is not selected before launching the ''Hello Word'' application .

Thanks in advance

Regards

Alex

3_FSBL_on_Putty.png
3_time_out_error.png
Project.png
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
612 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

Hi @alectronic 

Just to check: did you also delected the ZynqMP IP then added a new one and finally applied board preset?

If yes, can you attach your HDF file to the thread (you will need to zip it) and i will have a look (I hope I will be able to find a new board)


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
605 Views
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

@florentw ,

No I do not replace the Zynq IP .

Sorry but what is the step to applied the IP to the board preset ?

if I customize the IP , do I have to click on  "Presets-> Apply configuration " .

If yes where could I find the configuration tcl file ? 

Alex

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
601 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

Hi @alectronic 

You have to replace the zynqMP, then on the top of the block design you should see Run Block Automation

4.jpg

Make sure that Apply Board Preset is enabled and click OK

5.jpg

 

The preset from the ZynqMP GUI is not the way to do anymore. It was for Zynq-7000


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Participant
Participant
572 Views
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

Good and bad news .

The good new is that "hello word" application works fine now . It works with psu_init selected .

The bad new is that the PG289 application has 2  SW 's errors with this new .hdf 

Alex

 

Soft.png
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
555 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

HI @alectronic 

It is only a good news. This means that we know what was the original issue.

The other issue should be that you are missing the PL-PS interrupt output on the ZynqMP:

UHD-SDI.JPG

You can just enable it from the ZynqMP GUI

 

UHD-SDI-2.JPG

And connect back the concat IP


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
Participant
Participant
437 Views
Registered: ‎04-14-2014

Re: ''Hello word'' doesn't work with ZCU106 and PG289V1 design

Jump to solution

@florentw ,

Many thanks for your technical support , the ''Hello word '' application and the ''PG289'' application are working fine now .

Regards

Alex