UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Contributor
Contributor
464 Views
Registered: ‎06-18-2015

VCU - Encoded Video to PL

Hello,

I am using petalinux and gstreamer pipelines to encode video and encapsulate it with MPEG2TS and send it through Ethernet.

Now I need to send the MPEG2 Transport Stream to PL. How can this be achieved?

Best Regards.

Mustafa

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
434 Views
Registered: ‎11-09-2015

Re: VCU - Encoded Video to PL

Hi @mcetinsoy 

The result of the VCU is stored in the memory. So you just need to use a DMA to do memory to PL.

Note that the VDMA will not work as it is expecting encoded format. But you might use another one.

Regards


Florent
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
420 Views
Registered: ‎06-18-2015

Re: VCU - Encoded Video to PL

OK, I am looking into using AXI DMA for the job.

1-) I assume I can just add an AXI DMA IP connected to one of the HP ports of the ps.

2-) For the gstreamer pipeline what would be my sink? Can I just use fakesink?

3-) What would be the starting address for the encoded stream on the PS DDR?

Best Regards.

Mustafa

 

0 Kudos
Scholar watari
Scholar
400 Views
Registered: ‎06-16-2013

Re: VCU - Encoded Video to PL

Hi @mcetinsoy 

 

> 2-) For the gstreamer pipeline what would be my sink? Can I just use fakesink?

 

What protocol do you want to use ?

It depends on your protocol (TCP, UDP, RTP, RTSP and so on) in your sink.

 

Best regards,

Moderator
Moderator
364 Views
Registered: ‎10-04-2017

Re: VCU - Encoded Video to PL

Hi @mcetinsoy,

 

Is everything clear ofr you on this topic? 

If your question is answered or your issue is solved, please kindly mark the response which helped as solution (click on "Accept as solution" button below the reply)

If this is not solved/answered, please reply to the topic giving more information on your current status.

Thanks and Regards,

Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.

Xilinx Video Design Hub
Contributor
Contributor
285 Views
Registered: ‎06-18-2015

Re: VCU - Encoded Video to PL

I still can't get my head around this, so any help is appreciated.

So I will be using DMA for PS DDR to PL;

  • How can I find or manage the address range for VCU output?
  • Should I use mmap for DMA IP to control and initiate the transfers?

Thank you.

Mustafa

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
258 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2007

Re: VCU - Encoded Video to PL

@mcetinsoyIt sounds like your goad is to use the VCU encoder to encode the Video and then to package it up as MPEG-TS and send send the MPEG-TS to your PL logic.  Also, the plan is to use GStreamer, to do the packetization of the output video in an MPEG-TS  It is unclear why you want to round the MPEG-TS to the PL, but here are a couple of things that you might want to look at.

  1. GStreamer offers an IP called appsink which can be used to DMA data in a custom IP that might sit into the PL.  There is an example on the Xilinx Wiki that may be of some help.
    Video Data Modification in Gstreamer Application
  2. Also you might want to take a look at the demo that shows how to capture 10G data and then decode it and send it to HDMI Tx.  This is the opposite of what you are trying to do, but it may still be useful to just look at to get some ideas on how to interface PL with GStreamer.
    Zynq UltraScale+ MPSoC VCU TRD 2019.1 - 10G HDMI Video Capture and HDMI Display
Chris
Video Design Hub | Embedded SW Support

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to Reply, Kudo, and Accept as Solution.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor
252 Views
Registered: ‎06-18-2015

Re: VCU - Encoded Video to PL

Thank you @chrisar .

The reason I am trying to send the MPEG-TS to PL is I have custom cryptographic function residing there.

I will look into this further with your guidance.

 

Best Regards.

Mustafa

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
156 Views
Registered: ‎11-21-2018

Re: VCU - Encoded Video to PL

Hi @mcetinsoy 

Do you have any update on this?

If your question is answered or your issue is solved, please kindly mark the response which helped as solution (click on "Accept as solution" button below the reply).

 

If this is not solved/answered, please reply in the topic giving more information on your current status.

 

Thanks and Regards,

Aoife
Product Application Engineer - Xilinx Technical Support EMEA
**~ Don't forget to reply, give kudos, and accept as solution.~**
0 Kudos