cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor
Visitor

Programming Virtex5 XUPV5- LX110T

Hello,

I am a graduate student in the University of Western Ontario. I am currently working with the Virtex5 XUPV5 -LX110T FPGA development board. I coded a simple clock divider porgram in VHDL using DCM and I programmed the board with the code using IMPACT. I also set the up the appropriate ucf file for the pins I have used in the code. I have used the User clock provided in the board , divided the clock by 5 to generate a 20MHz clock , and I have assigned this output to J12 P (Diff Clock output) clock output pin. 

The problem is , I am not able to get a clock output from the SMA pin J12 . I am testing the clock output on an oscilloscope, but I am not able to get any waveform from the pin. I even tested the code by designing a testbench, and I am getting the appropriate divided clock output in the simulation. 

I would be grateful if somebody could help me out with this issue. I have attached the vhdl file for your reference.

Thanks

Mahadevan 

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Scholar
Scholar

M,

Have you gone through all the reports, and examined all the warnings?  Weret here any errors (if so you need to fix them)?

Open the .ncd in FPGA_Editor, and examine what the tools did.  Check that the input you are using as a clock input is correct, and the output you are using as your differential clock output is also correct.  How is the DCM reset?  If you use the reset button on the board,  be careful, as it is logic "0" true (the reset buttons have pullup resistors, and close to ground when pushed).

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose
0 Kudos
Visitor
Visitor

Hi Austin,

I did not get any errors or warnings in the synthesis report of the VHDL code, no errors or warnings  in the behavioral simulation and also when I programmed the code in IMPACT.