cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
heedaf
Explorer
Explorer
11,693 Views
Registered: ‎06-25-2008

Getting Started With Chipscope and EDK

Jump to solution

I've looked for tutorials on getting started with Chipscope in EDK but all I can find is for Planahead and ISE.  Does anyone know of one?  If not, could somone give me some pointers on how to get started with adding Chipscope to my EDK project?  My main goal is to be able to look at the cores and try and figure out why they are locking up.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
pritom
Observer
Observer
13,952 Views
Registered: ‎08-06-2010

Hi, 

 

If you are still struggling to get started with chipscope and EDK you can have a look to one of my tutorials, which is specifically on Using ChipScope with XPS. Hope it helps. Let me know your feedback.

 

Thanks,

 

Kazi Asifuzzaman 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
numbat
Adventurer
Adventurer
11,688 Views
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

A pal of mine gave me the following brief instructions a few years ago (in the EDK 11.x timeframe) which I still use today with EDK 13.2.  Step 1 is stop using EDK. :smileywink: I've added a step 0.

 

0) back-up your project.xmp file, it will be clobbered and become unusable with EDK

 

1) create new ISE project for your targeted part
2) Project -> add source; browse to your xps project file and add it
3) in the hierarchy highlight the newly added xmp project
4) in the processes (design tab below the hierarchy) double click generate top hdl source
5) in the hierarchy you should have "my_project"_top and below that should be your xmp project and below that is the .elf file
6) Project -> add new source and add a new chipscope definition file

6a) Synthesize your source.

7) add signals to your chipscope file as we always have

 

Caveats from me:

 

a. Restore your project.xmp before you go back to EDK or EDK will be very unhappy.

b. Regenerate top hdl source if you muck with top level signals (step 4 above) or things will get very wrong and confusing very quickly

c. There may be better ways to explore subhierarchies in your EDK project, the above works for me with only minimal pain so I've never tried/studied/explored anything else  (I would be happy to hear of anything better, I'm very much a path-of-least-resistance developer when it comes to Xilinx tools).

 

WARNING: PULLUP configurations on inputs (specified in the EDK UCF file) appear to be tossed during step 2 above.  Everything else in the UCF appears to otherwise be correctly handled.

0 Kudos
martinthompson
Explorer
Explorer
11,643 Views
Registered: ‎08-14-2007

Chipscope can be accessed directly from the Debug menu in EDK.  You can't always see the signals you want though - I often hack the ILA instantiation in the MHS file in a text editor to bring me the signals I want. Check the system.vhd file to see what the signals have been named if you can't figure out the convention.

Martin Thompson
martin.j.thompson@trw.com
http://www.conekt.co.uk/capabilities/electronic-hardware
0 Kudos
numbat
Adventurer
Adventurer
11,637 Views
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

The advantage for me using my pal's cheat sheet is you can see your full hierarchy in the core inserter dialog, and effectively trigger on anything in your design (that has survived optimization either implicitly or forcibly).  The core inserter dialog has its own annoyances, but that's a different thread.

0 Kudos
heedaf
Explorer
Explorer
11,626 Views
Registered: ‎06-25-2008

Will using Chipscope in ISE allow me to debug on the FPGA or will it only allow for simulation?

0 Kudos
martinthompson
Explorer
Explorer
11,618 Views
Registered: ‎08-14-2007

That's quite true and sometimes is the only way forward, esp. if you have custom logic in there.  It can be an awful lot of hassle though!

 

Hopefully the new Planahead interface to chipscope will understand EDk soon ...

Martin Thompson
martin.j.thompson@trw.com
http://www.conekt.co.uk/capabilities/electronic-hardware
0 Kudos
numbat
Adventurer
Adventurer
11,611 Views
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

"Will using Chipscope in ISE allow me to debug on the FPGA or will it only allow for simulation?"

 

I use the Chipscope analyzer on the FPGA with the technique I outlined above.

0 Kudos
heedaf
Explorer
Explorer
11,591 Views
Registered: ‎06-25-2008

Thanks for the info.  99% of my experience with Xilinx is with EDK and SDK so I'm a little lost on how to get to SDK once I've added Chipscope to ISE.  Can you tell me the steps?

Thanks,

DeWayne

0 Kudos
numbat
Adventurer
Adventurer
11,582 Views
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

Keep SDK up and running then just rerun "Generate Programming File" in ISE when you change your elf file via the SDK.  The elf file name appears in the Hierarchy window linked to your EDK (xmp) project.

0 Kudos
pritom
Observer
Observer
13,953 Views
Registered: ‎08-06-2010

Hi, 

 

If you are still struggling to get started with chipscope and EDK you can have a look to one of my tutorials, which is specifically on Using ChipScope with XPS. Hope it helps. Let me know your feedback.

 

Thanks,

 

Kazi Asifuzzaman 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
heedaf
Explorer
Explorer
4,620 Views
Registered: ‎06-25-2008

Kazi,

Thank you for your tutorial, it was very helpful.  I wish I could have found something like this on Xilinx's website.

Thanks,

DeWayne

0 Kudos
numbat
Adventurer
Adventurer
4,490 Views
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

I should add that my cheat sheet exposes a problem/bug: when the EDK project (the .xmp file, etc) gets added to the ISE project for some reason the pull-ups on a couple of inputs (specified in the EDK project's UCF file) get tossed, so those inputs float.  This caused me no end of trouble until I figured out what was going on.

 

All other UCF constructs appear to be imported correctly.

 

Stacey

0 Kudos