cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer
621 Views
Registered: ‎08-15-2018

Vivado Core Dump - IBERT Example Design Greyed Out, fixed by reset?

Jump to solution

When I generate the IBERT from the wizard in 2018.3, I generate output products. But when I right click on the .xci, "Open IP Example Design" is greyed out.

I have to 'Reset Output Products', and then the Example Design isn't greyed out. What is going on here?

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
586 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2011

Hi @bitstreamer ,

can it be that you did not wait until the output products were fully created? There usually is a synthesis run working in the background and you would get the menu item only available when this run finished. You should see that process running at the top right of the GUI.

On the other hand, for creating the example design you do not need the output products in the initial project. They will be recreated in the example design anyway.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
587 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2011

Hi @bitstreamer ,

can it be that you did not wait until the output products were fully created? There usually is a synthesis run working in the background and you would get the menu item only available when this run finished. You should see that process running at the top right of the GUI.

On the other hand, for creating the example design you do not need the output products in the initial project. They will be recreated in the example design anyway.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
571 Views
Registered: ‎08-15-2018

Yes - that's what I thought - it says 'Ready', not the usual indicator of synthesis or something running.

Upon further inspection - I believe it's 'silently' failing with a core dump in a background process. Any suggestions???

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
563 Views
Registered: ‎08-15-2018

Narrowed it down to this

/home/tools/Vivado/2018.3/bin/vivado &
[@localhost ~]$ terminate called after throwing an instance of 'HEXAlgException'
what(): ERROR: [Common 17-70] Application Exception: File not found: /mnt/hgfs/dir/prj.runs/ibert_ultrascale_gty_0_synth_1/runme.sh

/home/tools/Vivado/2018.3/bin/loader: line 213: 28534 Aborted (core dumped) "$RDI_PROG" "$@"
[@localhost ~]$ ls /mnt/hgfs/dir/prj.runs/ibert_ultrascale_gty_0_synth_1/runme.  <tab>
runme.bat runme.sh

It's there, but vivado doesn't see it and core dumps.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
535 Views
Registered: ‎10-19-2011

Hi @bitstreamer ,

that looks like an environment issue and not IBERT specifically. This is a bit out of my knowledge. Maybe someone else can help you further here.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos