Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
aminemr
Visitor
Visitor

FPGA: i get a different answer in modelsim and in device

Jump to solution

I'm new to VHDL and require some help. I'm Interfacing with Artix 7 to make a simple modular multiplier but i have some problems. When I synthesize my code i get some warnings which i think are wrong so i ignored them. when I run post route simulation i got the results as required but when i burned the code on hardware i get a different answer for the same value that i check in the stimulus.

Can some one please help me.

the warnings that i get are:

Xst:737 - Found 1-bit latch for signal <zt<1>>. Latches may be generated from incomplete case or if statements. We do not recommend the use of latches in FPGA/CPLD designs, as they may lead to timing problems.

Xst:1710 - FF/Latch <C_b_out_30> (without init value) has a constant value of 0 in block <Montgomery_multiplier>. This FF/Latch will be trimmed during the optimization process.

Xst:1895 - Due to other FF/Latch trimming, FF/Latch <z8_19> (without init value) has a constant value of 0 in block <Montgomery_multiplier>. This FF/Latch will be trimmed during the optimization process.

Xst:3001 - This design contains one or more registers or latches with an active
asynchronous set and asynchronous reset. While this circuit can be built,
it creates a sub-optimal implementation in terms of area, power and
performance. For a more optimal implementation Xilinx highly recommends
one of the following:
1) Remove either the set or reset from all registers and latches if
not needed for required functionality
2) Modify the code in order to produce a synchronous set
and/or reset (both is preferred)
3) Use the -async_to_sync option to transform the asynchronous
set/reset to synchronous operation
(timing simulation highly recommended when using this option)

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
aher
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi,