cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
4,827 Views
Registered: ‎12-25-2015

problem about EMC with microblaze in Vc707

Jump to solution

Hi all!

  I creat a simple block design in order to r/w the linear flash on Vc707 board as shown below:microblaze_emc.PNG

 As long as I attach the EMC, even the simplest project "Hello World" can not run in SDK.

If remove it, everything is all right again.

When I debug any project as GDB with hardware platform with EMC in SDK, the functon "main" is never found.

A window shows "No source available for "" ".

 

And re-synthesised vc707_BIST project has the same problem. 

How to solve?

 

Thanks !

 

Dorus Tan

 

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,074 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: problem about EMC with microblaze in Vc707

Jump to solution

hi,

 

you need to have a BRAM/External memory such as DDR in the drop down list shown in the snapshot attached.

 

refer to the procedure of generating the linker script as shown in the link below

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2014_1/SDK_Doc/reference/sdk_u_linker_script.htm

 

what happens if you run the BIST as is? Does the flash test pass or fail?

 

--hs

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
4,819 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: problem about EMC with microblaze in Vc707

Jump to solution

hi,

 

can you check if the linker script is mapped to EMC?

 

i would suggest you to run the BIST as-is to confirm if all the interfaces are working as expected.

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/boards_and_kits/vc707/2015_1/xtp205-vc707-bist-c-2015-1.pdf

 

--hs

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
4,812 Views
Registered: ‎12-25-2015

Re: problem about EMC with microblaze in Vc707

Jump to solution

htsvn:

Thanks for your prompt and enthusiastic suggestion!
I have download the BIST project form your reply of another topic.

 

Should the "linker script" to EMC be configured in SDK? 

I delete all the block besides EMC in the BIST project, the problem still exit.

Should the EMC block be supported by other IPs?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
4,810 Views
Registered: ‎12-25-2015

Re: problem about EMC with microblaze in Vc707

Jump to solution
exist
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
9,075 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Re: problem about EMC with microblaze in Vc707

Jump to solution

hi,

 

you need to have a BRAM/External memory such as DDR in the drop down list shown in the snapshot attached.

 

refer to the procedure of generating the linker script as shown in the link below

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2014_1/SDK_Doc/reference/sdk_u_linker_script.htm

 

what happens if you run the BIST as is? Does the flash test pass or fail?

 

--hs

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
4,742 Views
Registered: ‎12-25-2015

Re: problem about EMC with microblaze in Vc707

Jump to solution

Hi htsvn!

Thank you very much!

After generating the linker script,the problem is sloved.

 

Dorustan

0 Kudos