UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor houandreas
Visitor

Base reference design Sp601 cannot connect

Jump to solution

Hello,

I'm new in FPGA, have a SP601 evalulation kit. I'm using window7 with virtual PC. I've ran all BIST in that FPGA and it works. But the Base Reference Design always shows not connected to FPGA. I've tried all method I found online but all helpless. I'm considering now to change my OS to XP but I think it's better to ask first if anyone ever tried it like me with virtual PC. And for what do I need BRD? do I need it to download my project to FPGA or just to test and run some examples? Is there any alternative software for me to download the program? i'm learning VHDL but dont know how to download it in the FPGA.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: Base reference design Sp601 cannot connect

Jump to solution

To download a design to the board, generally you will do that with a bitfile, or load an imagine into memory and then configure from memory. For the SP601 in ISE you should be using the impact tool to program the device with a bitfile. The reason you likely cannot get a connection to the board is due to the virtual machine. In ISE with impact, you can run into driver issues. for our jtag cables. Since you are just beginning, i would stick with as simple of a setup as you can, and just use a direct JTAG connection to your PC without the virtual machine. 

What tutorial are you following, and what step exactly are you getting stuck on?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies