UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor pkhot
Visitor

Saprtan -6 Development board

Hi All,

I want to build my own spartan-6 FPGA development board for specific application. I am new with FPGA designing , I have never designed the FPGA based board before.

My application us very simple I just want to interface two Ethernet ports to the FPGA.

Does anyone have any idea how can I go about it?

I mean I have lot of questions such as how can I program the FPGA , I read about JTAG SMT1 which converts USB to JTAG but I had question that can I use it to download my code via xilinx software or I can only use it with DIGILENT board.

Is there any better way to program the FPGA?

What all components are necessary in FPGA board for proper operation.

Can you please direct me to the link so that I can read through the stuff and understand.

Regards,

Pinak

0 Kudos
16 Replies
Advisor joelby
Advisor

Re: Saprtan -6 Development board

Study the schematics and layouts of some of the reference designs and commercial development boards (e.g. SP601, SP605, Digilent Atlys, Digilent Nexys 3, SIOI), and read the documentation (e.g. UG393). Consider contracting an experienced designer to review your schematic and layout before manufacturing it.