UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor dankmliu
Visitor

Using RAM on ML505 Board

Greetings,

I have the ML505 Board as part of the Virtex-5 FPGA Gigabit Ethernet Kit.  I have been struggling with how to use the 256 MB DDR2 or the 1 MB ZBT SRAM.  I am pretty new to FPGAs and Xilinx, but I have figured out the basics of working the switches, LEDs, and even the Ethernet MAC.  Now I would like to use the on board memory, but I can't figure it out from the User Guide or any other documentation at the Xilinx site.

If anyone can post some hints or links on how to do this, it would be very appreciated!

Thanks!

-Dan
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: Using RAM on ML505 Board

Dan you can use either EDK or MIG.
Here is a link to the reference designs.  Under ML505 Base System Builder and Reference Design Material you will find an EDK based designed that connects to both DDR2 and SRAM (processor based).
Under ML505 Memory Interface Generator Design you will find a design that connects to DDR2 (non-processor based)
0 Kudos
Visitor dankmliu
Visitor

Chad,

Thanks for the information, somehow I missed that link you posted!  I think this should get me on my way... for now...

-Dan
0 Kudos
Visitor kadeve
Visitor

One detail: the ml505_mig_design reference design is for the Micron MT4HTF3264HY-53E SODIMM.
My ML505 was shipped with a MT4HTF3264HY-667 SODIMM, and I needed to tweak some parameters.
I'm using:

module mem_interface_top #
  (
   parameter BANK_WIDTH           = 2,       // # of memory bank addr bits
   parameter CKE_WIDTH            = 1,       // # of memory clock enable outputs