cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer

Multi ported RAM in FPGA

Hi, I am a final year student doing a project titled Multi ported memory in FPGA. I have a small query regarding the conventional techniques of multi porting memories. I am aware of replication and multi-pumping to increase the number of read and write ports. However I am still confused about the concept of banking. For instance, if I have a single port BLOCK RAM and replicate it to form 1W/2R memory and bank this with another replicated block RAM, will I have 4 memory locations shared between the two writ ports? Please do solve this doubt of mine. If there is any information on the internet, please do let me know as I have found none. Thanks
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
33 Replies
Highlighted
Instructor
Instructor

The term "bank" is a flexible and imprecise term.  Please describe what "bank" means with more detail.

Or you can describe what you wish to accomplish.  Do you seek a 1W/2R memory?  If so, the simplest design is two BRAMs -- duplicate copies of a single memory -- with the WRITE port connected together (shared WRITE address and WRITE data) while the two READ ports remain independently addressed and accessed.

-- Bob Elkind

SIGNATURE:
README for newbies is here: http://forums.xilinx.com/t5/New-Users-Forum/README-first-Help-for-new-users/td-p/219369

Summary:
1. Read the manual or user guide. Have you read the manual? Can you find the manual?
2. Search the forums (and search the web) for similar topics.
3. Do not post the same question on multiple forums.
4. Do not post a new topic or question on someone else's thread, start a new thread!
5. Students: Copying code is not the same as learning to design.
6 "It does not work" is not a question which can be answered. Provide useful details (with webpage, datasheet links, please).
7. You are not charged extra fees for comments in your code.